SAE Institute – Tri 1 – A Reflection

Having completed Trimester one of BA of Audio at SAE Institute (BNE) I feel more confident in my ability to learn more than anything else.

CIU110
This subject can be mundane – defining terms and finding references will always be mundane. But I have a better understanding of why it is important to have well-rounded knowledge of what a term is and isn’t and gained a sense of why I need critical thinking skills to be successful in creative industries – something I had not considered before.
In particular I enjoyed the final assessment more than I thought. As i was reading academic and none academic sources about ‘The Shining’ and Sound design in horror films I learnt some of the reasons why I like the film and how it is practically affective.

AUD110
This was challenging. The 3 hour classes were very hard to stay engaged with, partly because the lecture slides were absurdly long – I don’t think there was a single week the class time allowed  for everything in the slides to be discussed. I found Adrian to be a passionate teacher but seemed to lack the ability to water down more complex concepts for the class and seemed to rely heavily on the slides themselves to communicate the idea.
I could’ve contributed to my own learning more in this subject as well with independent research.
This was quite disappointing as the concepts in this subject are a foundation and necessary in the learning of new ideas and other subjects.

AUD111
We spent a lot of time in studio as this class was aimed at giving students a better knowledge of studio equipment and signal flow.
I found AUD111 quite challenging as I hadn’t been in a position to use a console before.
I remember being monumentally confused  and overwhelmed in the first class and was wondering how I would ever grasp understanding in this environment.
Never the less – I passed.
The learning environment in studio is quite challenging as they’re are many students and not a lot of space combined with the fact that their is only two consoles. Class time is not the most effective in giving practical application of skills.
I under utilized my personal studio time allowances – I think because I was intimidated by the console – but avoidance is not going to teach you anything.
Once I was in the studio for longer I found ‘doing’ is the best way to learn anything, and that everything is figure-outable.
I now feel more comfortable in studio but I have a lot to learn about the equipment and how to use it.

AUD112
Definitely my favourite subject of TRI 1.
I credit this to the fact that I had some previous knowledge of protools and the fact that Rose is a truly FANTASTIC lecturer (no exaggeration).
Even though 3 hour classes are incredibly hard to stay mentally present in the entire time, I found this the easiest class to stay engaged with.
The info was concise enough to be contained within each weeks lectures and Rose contributes and communicates ideas very clearly with great visual examples.

Conclusion
The fact that SAE is a relatively small campus/uni has advantages and disadvantages. The advantages include the smaller cohort allowing for more communication with the educators. A major  disadvantage I found was being the limited amount of studio time available.
The first Tri was extremely challenging but quite rewarding and I look forward to building on my knowledge.

Author: BreannaLeePringle

A BA of Audio Student. I am interested in exploring the relationship between image and audio within the Film/TV/Games Industry while continuing to expand and experiment with my knowledge in elements of music production.

Leave a comment